Department History

Medford Fire with Horses circa 1910
                  Medford Hose Company Circa 1910

Medford Fire-Rescue has a rich history dating back to 1886, when the first firefighting equipment was purchased for the City of Medford. Here are some of the significant events that have occurred over the years:

1886   Medford purchases its first firefighting equipment. The Medford Fire Department (Hose Company) is organized soon after.
1907   First horse-drawn chemical engine is purchased
1908   Construction of the Central Fire Hall is completed on Front St
1912   Medford's first automobile apparatus is put into service
1924   The first Stutz pumper is purchased and added to the fleet
1929   A new Fire Hall (Station 1) is built at 3rd and Front St
1952   Construction of the original Fire Station 2 is finished, located on 8th St
1956   The original Fire Station 3 is built on Highland Dr
1969   Building of the original Station 4 on Table Rock Rd is completed
1975   Fire Station 5 is completed, located on Roberts Rd 
1986   Medford Fire-Rescue celebrates 100 years of service
2000   Construction of Fire Station 6 is completed on Barnett Rd
2017   Fire Station 2 is rebuilt in a new location on Stewart Ave and Fire Station 4 is rebuilt
2018   Construction of the new Fire Station 3 is completed

View Medford Fire-Rescue's Timeline

View Medford's Fire Chief Timeline

For more fire department history and photos, you can visit the Southern Oregon History page by clicking here.

 

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Additional Department Information

Fire-Rescue Department Contacts

Medford Fire-Rescue Administration Office
200 South Ivy Street, Room #180
Medford, OR 97501
Phone: (541) 774-2300
Fax: (541) 774-2514
Email:

© 2019 City Of Medford  •  Site Handcrafted in Ashland, Oregon by Project A

Quicklinks

Select Language

Share This Page

Back to Top